Bureau of the Conference of the Parties

In accordance with Rule 22 of the rules of procedure of the Rotterdam Convention, as adopted in decision RC-1/1, the Conference of the Parties shall elect at each ordinary meeting a President and four Vice-Presidents, one of whom shall act as Rapporteur. These officers shall serve as the Bureau of the Conference of the Parties.

The members of the Bureau shall commence their terms of office at the closure of the meeting at which they are elected and remain in office until the closure of the following ordinary meeting of the Conference of the Parties, including for any intervening extraordinary meeting. Each of the five United Nations regional groups shall be represented by one Bureau member.

The offices of the President and Rapporteur shall normally be subject to rotation among the United Nations regional groups. No elected officer may serve on the Bureau for more than two consecutive terms.

Members of the Bureau

Current members of the Bureau


  • H.E. Mr. Franz Xaver Perrez (Switzerland - Western European and other groups)


  • Ms. Caroline Theka (Malawi - African group)
  • Mr. Mohammad Hematyar (Islamic Republic of Iran - Asia and Pacific group – replacement for Mr. Hassan Rahimi Majd)
  • Ms. Silvija Nora Kalnins (Latvia - Central and Eastern European group)
  • Mr. Trecia David (Guyana - Latin American and Caribbean group)

The Chair of the Chemical Review Committee is an ex-officio member of the Bureau.

Bureau Members - May 2015 to May 2017

Former members of the Bureau

Bureau Members - May 2013 to May 2015
Bureau Members - May 2011 to May 2013
Bureau Members - May 2008 to May 2011